SHADOW AND BONE by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a comment

December 7, 2012 by saharaj

Shadow and Bone is the book that I chose from the Austin Teen Festival, which I went to with two of my friends some months ago whenever it was (I forget). I devoured it.
Alina Starkov is an orphan – it’s depressing, how many books focus on orphans, but they do make good subjects – who is looked down upon and has never really excelled in anything. Her only true friend is Mal. But then, attacked in the Shadow Fold, she unleashes and ancient power – one others would kill for.
With this power, Alina learns she is Grisha, part of the group of snotty people she and Mal always looked down on because of the way the Grisha thought they were so much better. She’s taken away to harness a power she can’t control, and all she wants is to go back to Mal, but he isn’t answering any of her letters. With secrets unraveling, the most dangerous could be the mysterious yet alluring leader of the Grisha, the Darkling, who takes strange interest in Alina.
This plot has so many twists, and I was so easily swept into Alina’s character, that I almost fell for everything she did – not usual (AT ALL) for me. This book was amazing. I highly suggest it.

Also, check out my friend’s summary of this book at: http://sinisterbooks.wordpress.com/2012/10/12/shadow-and-bone/

S.

Leave a Reply

