SPHINX’S PRINCESS by Esther Friesner

4

December 8, 2012 by saharaj

So, I came across this book in Fifth grade, but it’s probably geared to people a little more my age now, so I still highly suggest it. It has become one of my favorite books, and one of the few books that aren’t fantasy but I still LOVE. I’ve read it at least five times since the first. Anyway, this book is Historical Fiction, set in ancient Egypt. 

Nefertiti is praised for her beauty and kindness, though less known is her intelligence. When her aunt, the Pharaoh’s favourite wife, Queen Tiye, forces her to come and marry her eldest son, Prince Thutmose, Nefertiti tries to tell herself she’ll love him. However, she finds Thutmose to be a cold person, warped by his mother. There are few times he shows his true self, and so Nefertiti fights for a way out of the arrangement. Yet even as Nefertiti finds a few friends, everything seems to go wrong. 

This book has a wonderful sequel, Sphinx’s Queen, which has even more twists than the first. I highly suggest both books. It was so easy to slip into Nefertiti’s character, even though she is centuries ago, on a different continent (for me, at least). All of the characters are very real. 

Esther Friesner is the author of Nobody’s Princess, and Nobody’s Prize, which I have read, and they are good, but not as good. She has also recently published Spirit’s Princess, which I haven’t found the time to read. 

S.

PS. You should visit http://sinisterbooks.wordpress.com , which aside from having a summary of this book, and several other books I am going to post about, is filled with intriguing and humorous summaries and suggestions. 

4 thoughts on “SPHINX’S PRINCESS by Esther Friesner

  1. IWishYouWereHere says:

    So, I am looking for a romantic book thats also full of adventures, got any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

