TIGER’S CURSE by Colleen Houck

Leave a comment

February 10, 2013 by saharaj

Hello those of you who are wondering where my sense of teen drama is. Yes, somewhere inside of me romance is somewhat appealing. Somewhere. (And yes, I’ve read the Twilight Saga. And even though I like Harry Potter, and there is so much controversy between the two, I like them both, but I am not here to talk about Twilight. Everyone’s heard of Twilight. Decide for yourself to read it.)

When Kelsey takes a job at a circus, I’d bet she never expected to end up in India, and I’d bet she never expected the white tiger she paid attention to at the circus would eventually reveal that for a few, precious hours each day he is able to turn into his true form, which happens to be a(n) (cute) Indian prince. Kelsey is the only one who can break the curse on Ren (that is, Dhiren, the white tiger) and his brother Kishan (a black, more feral tiger). What begins as a  simple(?) quest gets more complicated when Kishan becomes involved, and when Kelsey finds herself falling for Ren.

This is a romance, which gets tangled in a love triangle, but it’s SO much better than Twilight, and has lots of adventure and interesting Indian folklore. (Whether Ren or Edward is better is debatable, but Kelsey beats Bella in almost every situation, and I think I’d go for Ren anyway.)

Tiger’s Curse is the first of four books, all of which I’ve read (somehow Colleen made the ending work!); Tiger’s Curse, Tiger’s Quest, Tiger’s Voyage, and Tiger’s Destiny. You can visit the website http://www.tigerscursebook.com and my friend’s thoughts on the book at her blog http://sinisterbooks.wordpress.com .

I would like to let you know that I am not a radish (read the book to figure that out, if you like, and I suggest it!), and I am signing off from team Ren.

S.

Leave a Reply

