Critiques

Leave a comment

April 1, 2014 by saharaj

For the longest time the only people who had read my novel (currently 478 pages; apparently I’ve succeeded in making it longer, not shorter) was my best friend. I was extremely paranoid about letting other people read it because I thought they might steal the idea, and since publishing WAKE UP CALL is such a large goal of mine, losing it is a huge fear. I was also afraid that an adult would read it and be able to easily tell a kid wrote it. I’ve since given my novel to two other people, and I’m hoping to get some good advice from them. 

Reading my first draft of WAKE UP CALL is actually sort of painful, since I wrote it four years ago now, and the editing it’s undergone has majorly developed it. I’d like to hope my characters are more mature/realistic and the plot moves smoother. This being said, I’m the one who wrote it, so of course it’s all going to make sense to me.

Critiques are important.

It’s important to have someone else read your work helps you move forward. Sometimes it’s hard to admit to some of the faults in your masterpiece. It’s yours, and you worked hard to make it. You want it to be perfect; that’s understandable. The mistake I think a lot of people make with critiques is they use all the comments they’re given. An outsider’s advice is good, but no one knows the book like you, and you don’t want to let someone else easily change the outcome of your book. Look at each revision and decide whether it makes sense or not. A lot of people will bring up things you never considered, and at the same time some are suggestions that just don’t work. You decide. It’s your book.

S.

Leave a Reply

